Tuesday, June 8, 2010


Tan Sri Hasmy Agam named Suhakam chairman

June 07, 2010

KUALA LUMPUR, June 7 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak tonight announced the appointment of new members of the Malaysian Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) with Tan Sri Hasmy Agam becoming the new chairman.

He is the executive chairman of the Institute of Diplomacy and Foreign Relations (IDFR), which is under the Foreign Ministry.

The former chairman of Suhakam was Tan Sri Abu Talib Othman.

The members of the commission are Muhammad Sha’ani Abdullah, Professor Datuk Dr Khaw Lake Tee, James Deva Nayagam, Professor Datuk Dr Mahmood Zuhdi A. Majid, Jannie Lasimbang and Detta anak Samen.

In a press statement to Bernama, Najib said that under sub-section 5(2) of the Malaysian Human Rights Commission Act 1999, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong had consented to the appointment of the new Suhakam members for a three-year period.

The prime minister said the appointment took effect from April 26.

“In line with sub-section 6(1) Act 597, Yang di-Pertuan Agong has given his consent to the appointment of Tan Sri Hasmy Agam as the Suhakam chairman,” he added. — Bernama

Webmaster: Our congratulations to Tan Sri Hasmy Agam who is an old pupil of Malacca High School. Syabas on your new appointment

No comments:

Post a Comment